The boy and the egg go on an overnight school trip

Dear Sir,

My boy is the Boy with the egg.You might remember him from last year. He made the final team and now you are taking him on an overnight excursion. I know! It is amazing and he played so well. He carried that egg in his pocket and he never even cracked the shell! He had the best fun, was covered in bruises and grinning from ear to ear when he came home.

I’ve emailed you twice in the last week to ask that you undertake the Egg Preservation Training (EPT).  It’s a quick course to teach you how to help my boy look after his egg in an emergency. Our educator has very kindly offered to come to you and do the training. We need a reply to our emails please.

I am fully aware that my boy looks totally normal and you would never guess he has to carry that egg. Last year he had a really scary time on an excursion when a teacher refused to help him carry his egg. It nearly smashed as he didn’t follow my son’s Action Plan. You can read about that here. I’ve attached the most recent copy of the Action Plan to this email.

I also need to ask you to wake my boy at 3am. The egg is under a great deal of pressure after a full day of sport and you need to wake my boy and ask him to check it for cracks. This is something we do regularly so it won’t worry him. I know this is a big expectation of you after a busy day. We would be very grateful if you let us know that you will accept this responsibility.

My boy will have a great time on this trip. I don’t doubt that for a moment. You too will have fantastic trip with a top team but I know will you will feel more confident in yourself if you undertake the EPT. 

Many thanks,

Mumoftype1.

…………………………………………………………………..

Dear Educator

I finally heard back from the teacher. The trip has been cancelled. Not enough of the team turned up for training sessions. He congratulated my boy for turning up to every session and expressed his sadness at having to cancel the excursion.

All your amazing work to help protect the egg, all the planning  for keeping it safe and it’s a no go!

I feel like I’m ready for a peace keeping job in the United Nations with my carefully scripted emails to the teacher- understanding their difficult job but gently putting pressure on him to attend training and do a night check. All for nothing!

This is our job- egg protection squad!

Thanks as ever for your support of my boy!

Mumoftype1

6 thoughts on “The boy and the egg go on an overnight school trip

    1. He was annoyed at his mates for not coming to training but it’s coming into cricket season and he has signed up for two cricket teams! He has totally moved on to the next thing and now it’s all about meeting up at the cricket nets for practice!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi there! Thanks for asking! Been such a busy few weeks, I’ve not had time to blog! My boy had a full day’s cricket at school, two after school training sessions on other days then a junior and senior game yesterday! He is amazing! We are seeing the impact on his levels and, with the help of our amazing diabetes educator, we are working through changes to his insulin on busy days. I think we can safely say that diabetes has been the loser this week!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

