Not drowning but waving- Thursday- diabetes blog week


The Healthcare Experience – Thursday 5/19? Most people who live with a chronic illness end up with a lot of experience when it comes to dealing with healthcare. How would you improve or change your healthcare experience? What would you like to see happening during medical visits with your healthcare team? How about when dealing with your health insurance companies? What’s your Healthcare Wish List or Biggest Frustration? Today is the day to share it all!

I consider us to be a very lucky family. Upon diagnosis, we quickly met the Diabetes Educator, dietician, paediatrician and, in the months that followed, our endocrinologist.

At the centre of this is our Diabetes Educator. There’s not much she doesn’t know about our family after two and a half years. She was there when I first cried, and she’s been there for us every step of every day.

When my son’s blood glucose levels have gone crazy due to illness or a growth spurt, I’ve seen her text at 10pm to check in and make sure all is well. There is never criticism. There is always listening. She knows when we’re drowning and when we’re just waving.

When we talk, my son is the most important person in the room. I sometimes speak more but all questions are addressed to him. It’s the same when we see any of the team.

I have nothing but praise for our team and I honestly cannot think of anything I’d do to improve the access we have to them and what happens at our three monthly appointments.

Private Health insurance – I haven’t had to have much to do with them. My son doesn’t want a pump at the moment and that would be the only reason I could think of to call them.

We live in Australia and I think we are pretty damn lucky. We don’t have to pay for much at all and have never been questioned on how many blood checks are done a day. There’s nothing we have needed that we have not been able to get.

If I had a wish, it would be to make it compulsory for schools to have an annual education session from the Diabetes  Educator. This should happen as soon as there is one child with Type 1 diabetes in a school.

Every year, I have to fight to make this happen and in my son’s school there are six students with Type 1 diabetes. I am proactive and I know the jargon of education and I’m not afraid to get in the face of those in positions of authority. Bottom line is- my child should be safe at school. He has a management plan to help manage his diabetes at school yet there are times when it is not followed. School needs to be a safe haven for our children. The real world will come soon enough. It feels to me, that a tragedy will have to occur in a school to force this change to happen.

I’ve stated in an earlier blog post this week, that I worry about one thing at a time so I haven’t projected too far into the future. I don’t know what will happen when my son gets older and how he will transition to being an adult either locally or if he chooses to move away for study or uni. One thing at a time!

One thought on “Not drowning but waving- Thursday- diabetes blog week

  1. CDE’s really are amazing! I had a great one when I was little and then when I reached adulthood I only saw an endocrinologist and my care suffered. Since being pregnant, I have found an amazing CDE and my care has improved so much. I love your wish that as soon as a school gets a child with diabetes, a diabetes educator should give a talk, that would be so nice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

