Camping Capers!


Camping is great for kids! We recently took the family from the House of Testosterone, our little boat , and one brave grandfather and met up with the cousins at an inland dam in NSW.
We have a camper trailer but , as we were taking the boat, the ‘glamping’ went out the window and we were back to basic camping: inflatable mattresses, ice in a cooler box full of food and everyone in tents.

What an amazing location!  We sat round the campfire at night, no technology, just voices laughing and telling jokes until one by one we all went to bed.


Day times were filled with water based activities on the dam. The stand up surf board, newly purchased, was a big hit and was used as a huge water ski on the back of the boat. Inflatable biscuits were towed behind the boat at ever increasing speeds, throwing those hanging on into the air!

Wood was collected and Pop gave wood chopping lessons to grandsons and I quietly hoped that none of my boys had inherited my clumsy genes. Shoes were worn and no toes were lost!


Unpowered camping is a challenge when it’s 40 degrees centigrade and you need to keep insulin at a stable temperature. Thank goodness for frio packs which all worked a treat. Blood glucose levels were slightly wonky one day and we knew a test would be required around 3am. That’s when the fun began! You just have to laugh sometimes as the parent of a child with Type 1 diabetes!

I set my phone alarm and rolled inelegantly off the inflatable mattress, trying not to wake my sleeping husband who had come to bed later than me after a few beers and a sing along to hits of various decades! Remember, the clumsy thing? I tried not to stand on my father in law’s head and exited the tent! This was not a romantic escape, in our two room tent.

No ensuite when camping! Not being a fan of the “bush wee” ( I have the horrors at the thought of snakes and spiders biting my bottom), I hiked to the toilet at near Olympic speed. Upon my return, torch on my head on a headband, I unzipped the boys’ tent door. Three sleeping boys in a hot tent. My sister once told me that her son’s room smelled of feet and fart. Triple that in a small confined space with not a lot of room to manoeuvre round. Entering this confined space was a real test of a mother’s love!

My eldest two are very similar in height and build and had just had haircuts so telling them apart was not easy! My eldest son almost got a taste of what life is like for his brother as I came close to testing his blood! Head torches are brutal and the look on my son’s face was quite hysterical as I poised the finger pricker! Luckily I looked up at the last moment and saw it was the wrong boy!

Moving around to number two son who had cocooned himself in his sheet. A mini wrestling match ensued and finally the test was done. Levels had come into a better range so all was good! I crawled out the tent , zipped it up and stood outside for a moment. That’s when I noticed just how amazing the stars were. Just standing there, looking up at what lay beyond, I had a giggle to myself at the previous scenario and took some time to feel thankful for my life.

Leave a Reply

