Rhubarb and Strawberry Compote

Rhubarb is growing like crazy in the garden and strawberries are so cheap, tasty and smell delicious. I’m taken back to my Scottish childhood: rhubarb was one of the few things that grew easily and a favourite treat was raw rhubarb sticks dipped in an eggcup full of sugar. My teeth hurt just thinking about it! We would sit in the back garden crunching our way through this treat with dire warning about the poisonous leaves ringing in our ears.

 

I looked at a few online recipes and came up with this one of my own. It’s great added to yoghurt or plopped on top of muesli. 

 Less than half an hour from start to end. I sterilised the jars whilst the compote was cooking. Now I’ve got four lovely jars which may just last a few days in the House of Testosterone.

  

  

3 thoughts on “Rhubarb and Strawberry Compote

  1. Lovely to meet you Rachel! There are some other great blogs by mums who have kids with Type 1 ‘ I really enjoy the feeling of community I get from reading them. Let me know if youàd like the links. Take care of yourself ‘ we are almost two years from dx. It does get easier!

    Like

Leave a Reply

