Poem on a child’s diagnosis – I lost a layer of skin.

  
There is no denying that having a child diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes throws your world into a spin.
I know it’s my son who has Type 1, not me. I am completely clear about that. I also know that he does not spend his day worried about his diabetes. He lives the life of every other 14 year old boy: it just takes more organisation for him. 

I wrote this poem a few weeks after my son was diagnosed. I’d never written any poetry before this but it felt so good to write it down. The feelings I had were so raw and intense. Looking back, I can see that, as a family, we’ve all come a long way since then. That’s such a good feeling! 

8 thoughts on “Poem on a child’s diagnosis – I lost a layer of skin.

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment! I wrote this poem just after my son’s diagnosis and can honestly say things are much better now, two years later. He amazes me every, single day! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

