I sip my cup of tea

  

I think that since my son’s diagnosis, I am a much stronger person. My job requires lots of energy and I deal with people all day, every day. I can fix things there.  Nothing phases me now. Solutions are found. I’m quicker at getting things done and better at connecting with people and understanding how to help them. Nothing at work is as hard as being the mum of a child with Type 1 diabetes.

I do not allow this to define me. I am so much more than this and yet…. when I sit with my colleagues for a cup of tea, I realise how different I am now.

I sip my cup of tea. I wonder how my son’s BGL is. I’m hoping that my boy will let me know if he goes above 15 on the way to school like he did the other day.  My friend talks about her toddler’s worrying cough.

I sip my cup of tea. I’m hoping the sport he has later in the morning doesn’t give him a hypo and that if it does, he’ll be brave enough to test. Predictions can never be made as each day is so different from the last.  My friends discuss how untidy their children are.

I sip my cup of tea. I want to be like them.

I wash my cup and put it back in the cupboard ready for next time. I am a stronger person and the coughs and untidy rooms are part of the jigsaw of my world too but they are really small pieces in the puzzle of my life.

3 thoughts on “I sip my cup of tea

  1. 🙂 this post reminds me what my mum must have gone through while I was in school. my mom used to pack lots of stuff to eat in small boxes that I could carry everywhere (to prevent going into hypo) you are a strong person. kudos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We’ve all been friends for years so we share all of each others ups and downs. We laugh more than we cry and help each other through so much. I’m just aware, I suppose, that there’s a part of my existence that’s quite a bit different and you have to be in it to get it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

